Access Guyana


Guyana, also known as the Cooperative Republic of Guyana is located on the north coast of South America. It is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean, Suriname on the east, Brazil on the south, and Venezuela on the west. It’s known as the land of many waters. Guyana is 83,000 square miles (214,696 km)

Guyana is divided into three counties namely; Essequibo, Berbice and Demerara. The counties are named after the three major rivers in Guyana. Physically, the landscape can be categorized into; the coastal plain, the hilly and sand belt, and the interior savannahs and the forested highlands. Most of the population lives on the coastal plain.The coastal plain, which occupies about 5% of the country’s area, is home to more than 90% of its inhabitants.The hilly sand and clayregion is covered with vegetation and also consists of Guyana’s most precious minerals, bauxite, gold and diamonds.The interior savannahs occupies approximately 6-7% of the country’s coast and consists mostly of grasses, scrub and low trees and used primarily for farming and cattle rearing.The largest of Guyana’s three geographical regions is the interior highlands, it consist of a series of plateaus, flat-topped mountains, and savannahs. One of the mountain ranges is the Pakaraima Mountains. It’s part of the western part of the interior highlands.

Aerial View Of The Coast Of Guyana

Part of the Pakarima range is Mount Roraima, on the Venezuelan border, at ~ 9,100 feet (2,772 m). It is Guyana’s tallest peak. On the south is the Kaieteur Plateau, mostly a rocky area about 600 meters in height; the 1,000-meter high Kanuku Mountains; and the low Acarai Mountains situated on the southern border with Brazil.

Part of Guyana lies below sea level and is protected from the sea by dikes and dams. Guyana is also known for its many spectacular waterfalls. Some of the falls are among the highest in the world. Among them is Kaieteur Falls whichdrops 740 feet and is one of the tallest straight falls in the world.


Guyana is divided into three counties as follow:





Guyana is divided into ten administrative regions for economic and administrative purposes. The ten regions are:

Region 1-Barima/Waini

Region 2-Pomeroon/Supenaam

Region 3-Essequibo Islands/West Demerara

Region 4-Mahaica/Demerara

Region 5-Mahaica/Berbice

Region 6-East Berbice, Corentyne

Region 7-Cuyuni/Mazaruni

Region 8-Potaro/Siparuni

Region 9-Upper Takutu/Upper Essequibo

Region 10-Upper Demerara/Berbice

Author: Admin