Places To Visit – Guyana

1. Kaieteur Falls

Kaieteur Fall

Kaieteur Falls It is one of the most beautiful fall in the world and one of the tallest. It is seven times taller than Niagra. It drops more than 700 feet.

2. St. George’s Cathedral

St. George’s Cathedral

It is the tallest wooden building in the world and one of the oldest colonial structures in Georgetown.

3. Parliament Building

Guyana Parliamen

Build in 1834, it houses the Guyana parliament, and one of the oldest structures in Guyana.

4. Guyana Zoo

Guyana Zoo

5. Demerara Floating Bridge

Demarara Floating Bridge

It is one of the longest floating bridges in the world that spans the Demerara River and is located not far from the capital, Georgetown.

6. Cuffy Monument

Cuffy 1763 Monument

7. Iwokrama

Iwokrama Rain Forest

Iwokrama is an area of pristine rain forest in Guyana and is located ~ 300 km south of Georgetown. This area was allocated by the the government for the preservation of the rain forest and allow for studies and habitation.

8. National Stadium

Guyana National Stadium

The stadium, located on the East Coast of Demerara was build to host the World Cup that was played in the caribbean in 2007. It is now the primary venue in Guyana for International cricket.

9. Stabroek Market

Stabroek Market

One of the oldest building in Guyana, vendors of poultry, vegetables, drinks and all kind of food found in Guyana is here. It’s located in the capital city, Georgetown.

10. Umana Yana

Umana Yana

This was build by the natives of Guyana, the Wai-Wai Indians and its appox 55 feet tall. It was build in 1972.

11. Walter Roth Museum

Walter Roth Museum

This museum of contains info and artifacts relating to Guyana

12. University of Guyana

University Of Guyana

Guyana National Anthem & Pledge

National Anthem of Guyana Lyrics: A.L. Luker – Music: Robert Cyril Gladstone Potter

Dear land of Guyana, of rivers and plains, Made rich by the sunshine and lush by the rains, Set gem-like and fair between mountains and sea, Your children salute you, dear land of the free.




Guyana, also known as the Cooperative Republic of Guyana is located on the north coast of South America. It is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean, Suriname on the east, Brazil on the south, and Venezuela on the west. It’s known as the land of many waters. Guyana is 83,000 square miles (214,696 km)


Guyana State Symbols

Guyana has two main national symbols; The Coat Of Arm and The Flag Of Guyana.

Coat of Arms: 

The Guyana Coat of Arms includes a crest of an Amerindian head-dress. This symbolizes the indigenous people of Guyana. The crest is also called the Cacique’s Crown. (more…)



Georgetown is the capital of Guyana and along the Atlantic coastline. It is located on Guyana’s Atlantic coast on the east bank of Demerara River which originates from the Atlantic Ocean. (more…)